Home>  Literature>>

    NIYAMASARA (Shri KundaKunda Acharya)
     CHAPTER 1     (SOUL-JIVA)     
     Chapter 1    Chapter 2     Chapter 3     Chapter 4     Chapter 5   

 1. Bowing to Vira Jina, who, by nature is the possessor of infinite and supreme knowledge and conation ; I shall compose Niyama-Sara, preached by Kevalis and the Shruta Kevalis.                                      
2. In the Jaina Scriptures, the Path and the Fruit of the Path are described as the two parts. The means of liberation constitute the Path, and liberation is the Fruit.  
  3. What is in reality worth doing (is) Niyama, and that is belief, knowledge, and conduct. In order to avoid deflection the word Sara has been particularly affixed to it.
 4. Niyama (is) the way to liberation; its fruit is supreme Nirvana. Each of these, is again described. 
 5. Belief in the Perfect Souls, the Scriptures and the Principles is Right Belief. He who is free from all defects and is possessed of all (pure) attributes is the supreme source.
 6. (The defect are) hunger, fear, anger, attachment, delusion, anxiety, old age, disease, death, perspiration, fatigue, pride, indulgence, surprise, sleep, birth, and restlessness.


 7. One free from all defects and possessed of sublime grandeur such as Omniscience is called Parmātmā (the Highest Soul) or the Perfect One. One who is not such, (is) not Parmatma .
 8. Words proceeding from his mouth, pure and free from the flaw of inconsistency are called Āgama (Scripture.) In that Āgama the principles (Tattvartha) are enunciated.
 9. Soul, Matter, Medium of motion, Medium of rest, space, (substances) having dimensions, and Time, together with their various attributes and modifications are said to be the principles (Tattvartha).

 10. Soul is characterized by Upayoga.  Upayoga is towards Darsana of Jnana- Upayoga is of two kinds, Swabhava Jnana or Vibhava Jnana.
 11-12. Natural knowledge (is) perfect, unassisted by sense and independent. Non-natural knowledge is of two kinds.   Right knowledge of four kinds :-
Sensitive knowledge (Mati Jnāna)
  Scripture knowledge (Shruta Jnāna)
  Visual knowledge (Avadhi Jnāna) and 
  Mental  knowledge (Mana-paryaya Jnāna), and
  Wrong knowledge of three kinds, beginning with sensitive knowledge


          BACK   Page                                                                         NEXT   Page

  [Jain Dharma ] [Tirthankara ] [Great Jain Acharya ] [Jain Literature ] [Jain Pilgrimage ] [Ahimsa ] [Jain Arts & Architectures ] [Jain Festivals ] [ Railways] [ Airways ] [ Weather] [Contact Us ] [Advertise With Us] [ About Us ] [Disclaimer ]

                                         Site copyright ć 2004, jaindharmonline.com All Rights Reserved                  

                                                             Best viewed at 800 x 600 screen size