Home>  Literature>>








     NIYAMASARA (Shri KundaKunda Acharya)
    Practical Right Conduct   (Vyavahra Charitra)           
     Chapter 1    Chapter 2     Chapter 3     Chapter 4     Chapter 5   

56. Thought-activity free from (all) undertakings (injurious to any of) the mundane souls (which are) known as existing in (any of the various) physiques, nuclei, soul-classes, soul-quests, etc., is the first vow (non-injury), Ahinsa.
57. A saint, who renounces thought-activity leading to telling falsehood, on account of delusion, attachment and aversion is (said) to observe always the second vow, (truth), Satya.
58. He, who renounces the thought-activity of picking up articles belonging to another, lying in a village, a town or a forest, (is said) to observe the third vow (non-stealing), Achaurya.
59. He, who having seen the beauty of a woman, is not moved by a desire for her; or whose thought-activity is free from sex-animate feeling (Maithuna Sanjna), (is said to observe) the fourth vow (chastity), Brahmacharya. 
60. The carrier of the load of (right) conduct, i.e., a saint, who having first formed the idea of being unconcerned with all worldly attachments, renounces them is said to observe the fifth vow of possessional, (Parigraha Tyaga.) 
61. A saint, who walks upon a trodden path, free from living beings, in day time, after seeing (carefully) a distance of four arms length (two yards), (is said) to observe carefulness in walking (Irya Samiti). 
62. He, who renounced backbiting, ridiculing, talking ill of others, self-praising and harsh words, speaks what is good for himself as well as for others (is said) to have carefulness in speech (Bhasha Samiti).

63. He, who calmly takes food, which is prepared not by himself, nor that which he made others prepare for himself, nor that prepared by others with approval, and which is wholesome, free from living-beings, and given by another (with devotion), is said to have carefulness in eating (Eshana Samiti). 
64. (A saint who has) acted with care in picking up, and putting down, books, and jug (Kamandala), etc., is said to have carefulness in lifting and laying down, (Adana-nik shepana Samiti). 
65. (A saint who) discharges his excrement, etc., in a place which is secret, and free from all living beings, and where is no obstruction on behalf of any body, (is said) to have carefulness in excreting (pratishtha-pana Samiti). 
66. Renunciation of passionate ness, delusion, animate-feeling, attachment and aversion, and other impure thought activities, is from the practical point of view, called control of mind (Mano-gupti).
67. Renunciation of censurable gossip relating to women, state, theft, food, etc., which cause the bondage of evil Karmas, or refraining from telling falsehoods, etc., (is called) control of speech, (Vachan-gupti).
68. Renunciation of bodily movements, such as binding, piercing, beating, contracting, expanding, etc., is called control of body (Kaya-gupti). 
69. (From the real point of view) know, that abstaining from attachment, etc., is control of mind; and freedom from falsehood, etc., or silence is control of speech.

70. (From the real point of view) refraining from bodily movements, non-attachment to the body, restraint of body or renunciation of causing injury, etc., is called control of body. 
71. Worshipful Lords (Arhats) are those who are entirely free from all the (four) destructive Karmas, and are possessed of the highest attributes, omniscience, etc., and are crowned with the thirty-four extraordinary glories, (Atishaya). 
72. Those (souls), who have destroyed the bondage of the eight Karmas, are possessed of the eight great attributes, abide at the topmost of the universe and are the most exalted and indestructible, are Perfect Souls (Siddhas.) 
73. Those (saints), who are possessed of five kinds of conduct, who have trampled down the fury of the elephant of five senses, who are firm in their determination, and who are profound in virtue are (called) Heads of the order of Saints, (Acharya). 
74. Those (saints), who are brave, possessed of the three jewels, are preachers of the categories enunciated by the Conqueror (Jina), and are endowed with the thought activity of desirelessness, are (known) as the Preceptors (Upadhyaya). 
75. Those who are free from all (worldly) occupations, are always deeply absorbed in four kinds of contemplation (Aradhana) and are possession less and delusion less, are (said) to be the Saints (Sadhus). 
76. From the practical point of view, (all the previously mentioned) meditations constitute Right conduct; that (which is known) as Right conduct from the real point of view will be described further on.

          END OF CHAPTER  4                                                  Continue...
          BACK   Page                                                                      NEXT  Page

  [Jain Dharma ] [Tirthankara ] [Great Jain Acharya ] [ Jain Literature ] [Jain Pilgrimage ] [Ahimsa ] [Jain Arts & Architectures ] [Jain Festivals ] [ Railways ] [ Airways] [Weather ] [ Contact Us ] [Advertise With Us ] [ About Us ] [ Disclaimer ]

                                  Site copyright 2004, jaindharmonline.com All Rights Reserved                  

                              Best viewed at 800 x 600 screen size